Personal glimpses into CLWR’s past

Hearing stories over the past few weeks about some of our supporters’ historical connections to CLWR has been inspiring and touching! We share three of them here.

Brita Park

We should never forget that even the simplest of things we do make a difference. Brita Park of British Columbia shares this story. She and her family were resettled by CLWR in Canada after the Second World War. Before she left Germany her family received a food package at Easter from CLWR. Among the goods were packages of Jello. The colours stood out so much in the drab surroundings and made such a change to their frame of mind that Jello has been a family Easter tradition and placed in the center of the Easter dinner table ever since. Every family member is told the story as soon as they are old enough to understand.

 

Rev. Doug Reble

“When my grandfather retired after 28 years as president of the synod, he and my grandmother moved to Bremen, Germany, where he served as a chaplain. He and my grandmother worked with Lutheran World Federation and CLWR to help prepare post-Second World War immigrants for what to expect when they came to Canada.

When I first came to Stratford, ON, in 1995 I was visiting Tilly Kleihauer, one of my German-speaking congregation members. She said my last name sounded familiar and she would think on it. A few days later she excitedly contacted me and told me to come see her. She had remembered that ‘Pastor Reble, your Opa, was the last person to give me communion when I left my homeland and you will be the last person to give me communion when I leave my earthly home.’ Turned out I was. You gotta love it!”

 

Rev. Harry Kapeikis

Rev. Kapeikis described what it felt like to be hungry in the days following the Second World War. “I was hungry. Everyone around me was hungry. I began to prepare to die.” Then he spoke of the unspeakable relief to receive food and bread from CLWR and to be resettled in a new land.

4 thoughts on “Personal glimpses into CLWR’s past

  1. Thanks for including me on your email list. Our congregation is struggling to continue to maintain it’s historical identity (building, congregational numbers, etc.). We are an aging group. Our children have moved to other communities. BUT those of us that are still here are happy to help others in need, whether in our own community, or others. These stories tell us our sharing is worth the efforts.. the sharing of our blessings with fellow children of God’s.. Thank-you to all at CLWR.

    • Thank you for the lovely comment, Pat! And thank you for your work, and your congregation’s work, to serve others.
      -Jennifer (for CLWR)

Leave a Reply

